January TBR

Happy 2020!! ♥♥

ball-balls-blur-6300

I can’t believe it’s the start of the new year! This year I’m planning to structure my TBRs to prioritize all the books I’ve collected on my physical TBR. I have a full post about my 2020 reading goals here if you’re curious about what my TBR goals/plans are for the year.

I have 9 books on this TBR, not including the ten ARCs I need to get to (save me), AND I’m planning to participate in Smutathon which starts this coming weekend…. It’s gonna be a wild month all around.

1. The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager

LastTimeILied

This is the first BOTM I’m going to pick up this year. I loved Riley Sager’s first book, Final Girls, and I’ve heard this is most people’s favorite of his books. So I’m really excited to pick this one up. In fact it may be the first thing I pick up in 2020.

2. The Whisper Network by Chandler Baker

WhisperNetwork

I’m a little less excited about this one… I made a list of 24 backlist books (coming this Saturday!) that I want to read in 2020 and this was my first random pick of the year. I’ve owned this since it was released early in 2019, but I haven’t seen the greatest reviews since. I do still want to give it a shot though since this premise still sounds really intriguing and relevant. Fingers crossed I don’t have my first DNF right away in January 😅

3. The Luminous Dead by Caitlin Starling

LuminousDead

This is my first “out of my comfort zone” pick of the year! This isn’t something I’d normally pick up, but I’m trying to expand my horizon beyond adult romance and Riley Marie raved about this one. So I grabbed it from my library and will be giving it a shot this month!

4. The Bear and the Nightingale (Winternight Trilogy #1) by Katherine Arden

BearAndTheNightingale

I’ve started this book twice but I’m determined to finish it in January! This book is a pretty slow start but I’ve heard it picks up and is 100% worth pushing through. I really love Katherine Arden’s writing so I have full faith I’ll fall in love with this series.

5. Poirot Investigates (Hercule Poirot #3) by Agatha Christie

PoirotInvestigates

I’ve had this idea to read the entire Hercule Poirot series since 2018 and I’ve made it through a whopping 2…. It’s a goal of mine to work on finishing series I’ve started, so I created a jar with all the open series I want to prioritize this year. This was the first random pick so I’ll be reading this, this month. Luckily these books are super short so I fly through them.

6. The Highwayman (Victorian Rebels #1) by Kerrigan Byrne

Highwayman

This is my first Romanceopoly pick of the year! Romanceopoly technically has a monopoly-esque board that you’re supposed to work your way around. But to make it work for me, I printed off the challenge cards they had available on their website, shuffled them, and will draw a card randomly.

7. Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw

Winterwood

This is a book off of my Winter TBR, one of the 24 backlist titles, AND an overdue arc. So I desperately need to get to this one asap. I really enjoyed Shea Ernshaw’s writing in The Wicked Deep so I’m excited to be back in one of their worlds.

8. Archangel’s Consort (Guild Hunter #3) by Nalini Singh

ArchangelsConsort

This series is absolutely addictive. I really want to catch up with the series in 2020 so this is a part of my series goal. I never thought of myself as a paranormal romance person, but I’m eating my words because I love this series.

9. Winter in Paradise by Erin Hilderbrand

WinterInParadise

This is my choice for the Romanceopoly Winter Challenge. I meant to read this in December because it is technically Christmas-y, but it didn’t happen and I really want to read something by this well loved author. So now is the time!

That’s it! Like I said, I also have an absolute ton of ARCs to read, but I don’t want to include them here because I don’t know how many I’ll actually get through. Keep your eyes peeled for lots, and lots of reviews coming your way though! It’s another goal of mine to review every book I read this year, so I should hopefully be posting 2-3 reviews every week (crazy!)


What book are you kicking off the decade with?? Happy new year loves!

♥♥♥♥

8 thoughts on “January TBR

Leave a comment